This Daredevil has an odd ability for such a low health total. It should be said from the start that a 2-cost ally who attacks or thwarts for two then blocks is already a fine deal. The response seems made for defending minion attacks, but the best way to handle minions is usually to not let them attack in the first place. Another knock against this card is the absence of a trait like Champion or Web-Warrior that would help justify it in one of those archetypes. All in all, Daredevil is a serviceable ally even if you never use the response, but it is not an effect you should plan around.
I do need help on this ruling though...if Daredevil defends against an attack that kills him is the damage still moved? Or what if it dealt exactly 3 damage, does he move the 1 and survive? Couldn't find an answer on Reddit. If so, then Daredevil moves into the staple Protection ally category but still will be on the fringes of archetypes that reward certain group traits.